Community Read: Letters to My Palestinian Neighbor

Join Us For A Community Read!

Our 2018-19 book selection is Letters to My Palestinian Neighbor by Yossi Klein Halevi.

Be moved by Halevi’s balanced retelling of two narratives. Join the conversation, share your thoughts online with community members, go to a book club discussion. Let’s envision a hopeful future for our homeland.

The Book

“Refreshingly honest…In explaining Israel to the Palestinians, [Halevi] appeals to a certain ideal, a higher ambition, a sense of wonder and beauty.” ― The Forward

“A powerful, challenging, and deeply moving plea for human understanding across one of the most tragic divides in modern politics.” ― Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks

Purchase the book at Boswell Book Company, 2559 N. Downer Ave. Milwaukee, WI, 414-332-1181, Info@BoswellBooks.com.

Read more about the book.

Join the Conversation

Book Club Background Readings and Video Recordings

Join the Facebook Discussion Group

Join the Padlet Online Discussion

Yossi Klein Halevi Event

See and hear Yossi Klein Halevi in Milwaukee!
Thursday, May 30 | 7 pm | Free
Congregation Emanu-El B’ne Jeshurun
2020 W. Brown Deer Rd., River Hills

Book sale and signing
Dessert Reception following presentation (dietary laws observed)

RSVP for to hear Yossi Klein Halevi in Milwaukee!

Book Club Discussion Dates

You are invited to join on the following book discussions in our community. Contact the organization for more specific information. Listed chronologically.

Congregation Sinai, Fox Point
Contact person: Brian Avner, banver@congregationsinai.org
January 6 at 10:00 am

Ovation Chai Point, Milwaukee
Contact person: Rabbi Steve Adams, radams@ovation.org 
Discussion at 3:00 pm Mondays
January 14
February 4 & 18
March 4, 18 & 25
April 1, 15, & 29
May 13

Hadassah, Green Bay
Contact person: Libbie Miller, 920-432-8030
February 2, 2019 at 1:00 pm

Congregation Emanu-El of Waukesha
Contact person: Barb Zacher, zacherhc@wi.rr.com 
February 6 at 1:30 pm

Peltz Center for Jewish Life, Mequon
Contact person: Dinie Rapoport, dinie@chabadmequon.org 
February 27 at 7:00 pm

Congregation Emanu-El B’ne Jeshurun, Brown Deer
Contact person: Rabbi Toba Schaller, rabbischaller@ceebj.org
March 12 at 7:00 pm

Congregation Shir Hadash (joined by Lake Park Synagogue)
Contact person: Rabbi Michal Woll, rabbi@shirmke.com
March 13 at 6:30 pm at Hillel Milwaukee

Lake Park Synagogue, Milwaukee (joined by Congregation Shir Hadash)
Contact person: Rabbi Joel Dinin, jdinin@gmail.com
March 13 at 6:30 pm at Hillel Milwaukee

Coalition for Jewish Learning
Contact person: Tzipi Altman-Shafer, tziporaha@milwaukeejewish.org 
April 1 at 6:30 pm

MJF Staff
Contact person: Tzipi Altman-Shafer, tziporaha@milwaukeejewish.org
April 10 at noon at MJF

The Shul, Bayside
Contact person: Chava Edelman, chava@chabadwi.org
May 8 at 10:00 am

Congregation Beth Israel Ner Tamid, Glendale
Contact person: Jen Saber, jennifers@cbintmilwaukee.org
May 13 at 7:00 pm

Congregation Shalom, Fox Point
Contact person: Abby Habush Schroeder, abby@cong-shalom.org
May 14 at 6:30 pm

Harry & Rose Samson JCC, Whitefish Bay
Contact person: Jody Hirsh, jhirsh@jccmilwaukee.org
May 15 at 7:00 pm

MJDS B+ Book Club
Contact person: Diane Wolfson, diane.wolfson@gmail.com
May 21 at 7:00 pm

Chabad of the East Side, Milwaukee
Contact person: Mrs. Mushka Lein, mushkalein@chabadwi.org
Date TBD

Congregation Anshe Lebovitch, Mequon
Contact person: RuthAnn Guthman, raguthman@gmail.com
Date TBD

Temple Menorah, Brown Deer
Contact person: Rabbi Gil-Ezer Lerer, rabbi@templemenorah.com
Date TBD

For more information about Milwaukee’s Jewish Community Read, contact Allison Hayden at 414-390-5724.

Sponsored by the Milwaukee Jewish Federation and a growing list of community partners.